Talk about yourself

I’m curious to know what inspires people to a particular viewpoint or party, so I’d like to invite anyone to discuss how they came to the politics they hold.

Did your parents have the same views?

Have you changed your views over time?

Was there a particular event or issue that changed you?

For me, I was not interested in politics much until my twenties (my colleagues often assume I studied Politics for my Bachelor’s, but actually I studied Business Administration before realising I’m not really a businessman!). I voted Labour when Blair first took over because Labour seemed fashionable back then.

My parents were traditional Tory voters but I think my mum was an occasional Lib Dem defector and my I think dad has now lost faith with the Tories and switched to UKIP.

I began to take an interest in the BNP when I saw first hand the change in my home town and the behaviour of some ethnic groups. I don’t mean that in a wholly negative sense either, I noticed that some ethnic groups worked very hard and contributed massively to society. I always had a feeling that the media were not telling us the full story about immigration and its affects. In fact I had that hunch even before I took an interest in politics. Likewise, I always feel unsure about Islam though I had (and still have) Muslim friends. For a long time I resisted joining the BNP because I knew vaguely that there was a stigma attached to them. But over the course of about five years I became a more frequent visitor to the site and a sequence of events: the Mandela statue in London, 9/11, the London Bombings and my study of The Quran bought me to take the plunge.

But I realise what’s right for one person is not for everyone. My travels have shown me that a person’s upbringing can have a huge affect on the way they see the world, even when two people are viewing the same events, they can see things very differently. The political fighting in Thailand is a perfect example of that.

So out of curiosity, I’d like to invite anyone to talk about themselves. I’ll read the replies later, I’m off to play with my son and – after he goes to sleep – my xbox 360 :-)

2 Responses to “Talk about yourself”

  1. I Too was a lifelong Tory brought up by a Tory father and i’d say a mother that voted for whichever party she was advised to support.
    After my father passed away mother began voting Labour under my brothers pressure.
    I was tempted by labour after having witnessed first hand Communisim behind the iron curtain therefore any shade of pink or red was out.
    Mass immigration to the country also the misinformation i found having to travel across England in my work, I found England was in effect being colonised.
    Today I am a nationalist, detesting globalisation and all it stands for.
    And had i the option to vote BNP then i would!
    Having done a massive amount of research into the Fabians then nationalism has to be the only way.
    Not holding out much hope.when finding Fabians have infiltrated all western nations and parties.
    I fear for the future of this country and her peoples long term prospects.
    Islam won’t change after 1400 years a pattern has emerged, knowing this our politicians have done an unforgivable crime allowing so many to enter Britain.
    We can see across the world in every country where islam has been allowed to enter only slaughter and mayhem follows.
    Having in effect a Communist Government insitu,a population that takes no interest whatsoever, all does not bode well.

  2. Hello, interesting site, although I find it difficult to understand how any intelligent and thoughtful person can support the crude BNP.

    I am a RAF brat brought up all over the world in a Christian home in last days of real British global power and influence. My father was a concerned Old Labour voter from Liverpool, my mother a kind Conservative from Essex, and at home we would have political debates that very much centred on moral values, that is, on which policies seemed to help ordinary people the most, which policies best gave equality of opportunity whatever the background of the child, which policies, such as the NHS, gave greatest benefits to all, which policies encouraged entrepreneurship and employment opportunities, which policies were most likely to give each new generation a better standard of living than the preceding.

    So far so good. Cut to the present. It was when I married a non-Brit that I began to realise for myself how crude, unkind and destructive politics can be.

    Over the internet self-declared BNP members have told me how I “betrayed my race” and “sullied my bloodline” by marrying a non-Brit, comments that I have learned reflect a deeply flawed and dangerously isolationist BNP view of the world. Comments of almost laughably simplistic xenophobia.

    When a political movement has at its core errors of morality and reality, then that political movement cannot succeed.

    It seems to me that good politics seeks to bring the greatest happiness to the greatest number, and that, on the other hand, the BNP is dedicated to hurtful, hateful and divisive policies that it should be confronted at every opportunity.

    REAL British born and bred people are terribly hurt and damaged by BNP policies and their warped world view. Politics built on wrong-headed reasoning and hatred cannot be allowed to succeed.

Leave a Reply

